Home » Fields Medal 2022

Fields Medal 2022

The prestigious Fields Medal 2022 was announced by the International Mathematical Union (IMU) in July 2022. The recipients are normally announced at the International Congress of Mathematicians, which was originally due to be held in Russia this year but moved to Helsinki instead.

Winners of Fields Medal 2022:

  1. French mathematician Hugo Duminil-Copin of the University of Geneva

For solving longstanding problems in the probabilistic theory of phase transitions in statistical physics, especially in dimensions three and four.

2. Korean-American mathematician June Huh of Princeton

For bringing the ideas of Hodge theory to combinatorics, the proof of the Dowling–Wilson conjecture for geometric lattices, the proof of the Heron–Rota–Welsh conjecture for matroids, the development of the theory of Lorentzian polynomials, and the proof of the strong Mason conjecture.

3. British mathematician James Maynard of the University of Oxford

For contributions to analytic number theory, which have led to major advances in the understanding of the structure of prime numbers and in Diophantine approximation.

4. Ukrainian mathematician Maryna Viazovska

For the proof that the E8 lattice provides the densest packing of identical spheres in 8 dimensions, and further contributions to related extremal problems and interpolation problems in Fourier analysis.

» In 2014, Maryam Mirzakhani was the first woman to win the Fields Medal. Ukrainian mathematician Maryna Viazovska became the second woman to win Fields Medal.

About Fields Medal:
  • The Fields Medal is awarded every four years on the occasion of the International Congress of Mathematicians.
  • The Fields Medal is awarded to recognize outstanding mathematical achievement for existing work and for the promise of future achievement.
  • The Fields Medal is awarded by the International Mathematical Union to mathematicians under the age of 40.
  • The Fields Medal is often described as the Nobel Prize in mathematics.
  • First awarded in 1936 in Oslo, Norway, 64 people have won the medal as of 2022.
Source: IMU

Also Read:

English English Hindi Hindi