Home » First Himalayan Film Festival in Ladakh

First Himalayan Film Festival in Ladakh

The Union Minister for Information and Broadcasting, Shri Anurag Thakur inaugurated the star-studded five days ‘First Himalayan Film Festival’ at Sindhu Sanskriti Kendra, Leh, Union Territory of Ladakh on 24 September 2021.

The five-day long festival was held at Leh, Ladakh from 24th to 28th September 2021. The film festival was a part of the celebrations of ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ commemorating 75 years of India’s Independence.

Organized by:

The Himalayan Film Festival 2021 was organized by the Administration of Union Territory of Ladakh in collaboration with the Directorate of Film Festivals, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Government of India.

Opening ceremony:

The biographical war film ‘Shershaah’ based on ‘Param Vir Chakra’ awardee Captain Vikram Batra was screened during the opening ceremony.

    • The film festival received 100 entries from Himalayan states/UTs.
The festival comprised of various segments, to enthrall the audience and film buffs alike, viz:
  • Screening of popular films during the 5-day festival
  • Workshops, Masterclasses, and In-Conversation sessions
  • Competition section- Short and documentary film competition

Along with the above components the film festival also comprised Food festival, Cultural Shows and Music Fest.

The 1st edition of Himalayan Film Festival concluded successfully and the films were awarded in various categories.

Winners of the Competition Section:
Best Short Film (upto 15 mins):

The Tainted Mirror (Meiteilon/Manipur)

Producer: Chingsubam Sheetal; Director: Romi Meitei

Best Short Film (upto 5 mins):

Go for Organic

Producer & Director: Barnali Medhi

Best Short Film (upto 1 min): (to be shared)

1. Homework

Producer & Director: Sagar Pandey

2. Godliness

Producer: Tadar Kaku; Director: Nabam Sonil

Best Story: (to be shared)

1. Sekool

Screenwriter: Stenzin Tankong

2. Mute Water

Screenwriter: Sahidul Haque

Best Cinematography: (to be shared)

1. The Horse From Heaven (Mur Ghurar Duronto Goti)

Cinematographer: Arnab Laha

2. Samnaba -Merge

Cinematographer: Tushar Nongthombam

Best Editor:

Shadey – A Forgotten Land

Editor: Stanzin Gurmet Phyang

Jury Special Mention (For Director):
  1. Nesting Munia

Director: Pranjal Pratim Chetia

2. Adapting to Climate Change: Focus on Biodiversity in the Western Himalayas

Director: Prof Shahid Rasool

Official link for List of Awardees

Source: PIB

Also Read:

Scroll to Top