Home » 12th National Voters’ Day

12th National Voters’ Day

The 12th National Voters’ Day was celebrated across the country on January 25, 2022.

National Voters’ Day has been celebrated all over the country on January 25 every year since 2011 to mark the Foundation Day of the Election Commission of India, which was established on this day in the year 1950.


The 12th National Voters Day was organized on the theme- “Making our Elections Inclusive, Accessible and Participative”.


The main purpose of the NVD celebration is to highlight the importance of each vote in a democracy; encourage, facilitate and maximize the enrollment of new voters and also enhance participation of voters.

Activities on the occasion of 12th National Voters’ Day:

» The Election Commission of India launched a publication ‘Leap of Faith: Journey of Indian Elections’.

  • The book narrates India’s electoral history and the growth of representative and electoral principles in India as it evolved from the nineteenth to twenty first century.

» Another Publication ‘Pledging to Vote – A decadal Journey of The National Voter’s Day in India’ was also released.

  • The book presents the journey of National Voter’s Day celebrations by ECI from Diamond Jubilee celebration onwards.

» A national voter awareness contest- “My Vote is my Future- Power of One Vote” was also launched to reiterate the importance of every vote through creative expression for the ongoing Assembly Elections 2022.

On this occasion, the Commission conferred the National Awards for the Best Electoral Practices to Officers for their outstanding performance in the conduct of elections in different spheres.

In addition, awards were also conferred on Govt Departments and Media Houses for their outstanding contribution in the field of voter awareness and outreach.

Best Electoral Practices Awards 2021-2022

Best State Award:

(i) Award for Excellence to States to Shri Satyabrata Sahoo, CEO, Tamil Nadu

    • For conducting General Elections to the State of Tamil Nadu during 2021.

(ii) Award for Excellence to States to Shri Nitin Khade, CEO, Assam

    • For conducting General Elections to the Assam Legislative Assembly, 2021.
Official Link to Download Best Electoral Practices Award and Other Awards
Source: PIB

Read Also: