Home » Complete List of 2020 Nobel Prize Winners

Complete List of 2020 Nobel Prize Winners

Medicine/Physiology Prize

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2020 announced by Professor Thomas Perlmann, Secretary-General for the Nobel Assembly and the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine, on 5 October 2020.

The 2020 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine is awarded jointly to Harvey J. Alter, Michael Houghton and Charles M. Rice “for the discovery of Hepatitis C virus”.

Harvey J Alter from National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD, USA; Michael Houghton from University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada; Charles M Rice from Rockefeller University, New York, NY, USA equally shared the prize.

Physics Prize

Nobel Prize in Physics 2020 was announced by Professor Goran K Hansson, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, on 6 October 2020

Nobel Prize in Physics 2020 jointly given to:

Roger Penrose from University of Oxford, UK

Reinhard Genzel from Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Garching, Germany and University of California, Berkeley, USA

Andrea Ghez form University of California, Los Angeles, USA

One half of the award share to Roger Penrose“for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity.”

The other half award jointly shared to Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez“for the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the centre of our galaxy.”

Chemistry Prize

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2020 on 07th October, 2020 jointly to: 

Emmanuelle Charpentier, Max Planck Unit for the Science of Pathogens, Berlin, Germany 

Jennifer A. Doudna, University of California, Berkeley, USA.

They got the prize “for the development of a method for genome editing”.

Literature Prize

The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2020 is awarded to the American poet Louise Glück on 08th October, 2020.

She got the award, “for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal”.

Peace Prize

The Norwegian Nobel Committee has awarded the Nobel Peace Prize 2020 to the World Food Programme (WFP) on 09th October, 2020. 

WFP got the award “for its efforts to combat hunger, for its contribution to bettering conditions for peace in conflict-affected areas and for acting as a driving force in efforts to prevent the use of hunger as a weapon of war and conflict”.

Prize in Economic Sciences

On 12th October 2020, The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2020 to:

Paul R. Milgrom, Stanford University, USA

Robert B. Wilson, Stanford University, USA

The award has been jointly given to both “for improvements to auction theory and inventions of new auction formats.”

Scroll to Top