Home » 2022 BWF World Championships

2022 BWF World Championships

The 2022 BWF World Championships was a badminton tournament, held from 22 to 28 August 2022 at Tokyo Metropolitan Gymnasium in Tokyo, Japan.

  • This was the 27th edition of the BWF World Championships which was hosted by Japan.

2022 BWF World Championships: Performance of India

» India finished with one medal at the badminton championships.

  • Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty claimed the bronze medal in the men’s doubles competition of the BWF World Championships 2022 after losing against Malaysia’s Aaron Chia and Soh Wooi Yik in the semifinals.
  • This was India’s 13th world badminton championships medal but the first in men’s doubles. Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty became the first Indian pair to win a medal in the men’s doubles at the BWF World Championships.

2022 BWF World Championships: Medalists

Men’s singles:
  • Gold: Viktor Axelsen (Denmark)
  • Silver: Kunlavut Vitidsarn (Thailand)
  • Bronze: Chou Tien-chen (Chinese Taipei) & Zhao Junpeng (China)
Women’s singles:
  • Gold: Akane Yamaguchi (Japan)
  • Silver: Chen Yufei (China)
  • Bronze: An Se-young (South Korea) & Tai Tzu-ying (Chinese Taipei)
Men’s doubles:

Gold: Aaron Chia (Malaysia) & Soh Wooi Yik (Malaysia)

Silver: Mohammad Ahsan (Indonesia) & Hendra Setiawan (Indonesia)


    • Fajar Alfian (Indonesia) & Muhammad Rian Ardianto (Indonesia)
    • Satwiksairaj Rankireddy (India) & Chirag Shetty (India)
Women’s doubles:

Gold: Chen Qingchen (China) & Jia Yifan (China)

Silver: Kim So-yeong (South Korea) & Kong Hee-yong (South Korea)


    • Mayu Matsumoto (Japan) & Wakana Nagahara (Japan)
    • Puttita Supajirakul (Thailand) & Sapsiree Taerattanachai (Thailand)
Mixed doubles:

Gold: Zheng Siwei (China) & Huang Yaqiong (China)

Silver: Yuta Watanabe (Japan) & Arisa Higashino (Japan)


    • Wang Yilyu (China) & Huang Dongping (China)
    • Mark Lamsfuß (Germany) & Isabel Lohau (Germany)

First held in 1977, the badminton world championships were held every three years until 1983 and then became a biennial event till 2005. Since then, it was held every year except in an Olympic year.

Source: BWF

Also Read: