Home » Ramon Magsaysay Award 2021 announced

Ramon Magsaysay Award 2021 announced

Recently the Ramon Magsaysay Award 2021 has been announced. This is the 63rd edition of the award.

This year five awardees have been selected by the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation.

Winners of Ramon Magsaysay Awards 2021

  1. Muhammad Amjad Saqib

A visionary who founded one of the largest microfinance institutions in Pakistan, servicing millions of families.

2. Firdausi Qadri

A Bangladeshi scientist who has been instrumental in discovering vaccines that have saved millions of lives.

3. Steven Muncy

A humanitarian who has been helping the displaced refugees of Southeast Asia rebuild their lives

4. WatchDoc

A production house that ingeniously combines documentary filmmaking and alternative platforms to highlight underreported issues in Indonesia.

5. Roberto Ballon

A fisherman from Southern Philippines who has led a community in restoring their rich aquatic resources and their primary source of livelihood.

About Ramon Magsaysay Award:

» The Ramon Magsaysay Award was established in 1957.

» The Ramon Magsaysay Award was named after the third President of the Republic of the Philippines.

» The first Ramon Magsaysay Awards were given on August 31, 1958 to a Philippine-based organisation and five outstanding individuals working in India, Indonesia, Philippines, China (Taiwan) and Sri Lanka.

» The Ramon Magsaysay Award is Asia’s premier prize and highest honor and is recognized as the region’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize.

» The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation annually selects the awardees for the field of Emergent Leadership.

» The 63rd Ramon Magsaysay Award winners will be formally honored with the award on 28 November 2021 event at the Ramon Magsaysay Centre in Manila.

Also Read: