Home » 2021 Laureus World Sports Awards

2021 Laureus World Sports Awards

22nd edition of Laureus World Sports Awards

2021 Laureus World Sports Awards was virtually announced on 06 May 2021 from Spain. This was the 22nd edition of Laureus World Sports Awards.

Spain’s Tennis player Rafael Nadal was named the 2021 Laureus Sportsman of the year while Tennis player Naomi Osaka has been named 2021 Laureus Sportswoman of the Year, at the Laureus World Sports Awards.

Tennis legend Billie Jean King was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award by the Laureus World Sports Academy.

List of all awardees at Laureus World Sports Awards 2021:

Laureus World Sportsman of the Year: Rafael Nadal, Tennis Player from Spain

Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year: Naomi Osaka, Tennis Player from Japan

Laureus World Team of the Year: Bayern Munich, Football Team, Germany

Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year: Patrick Mahomes, American Football, USA

Laureus World Comeback of the Year: Max Parrot, Snowboarding, Canada

Laureus Sport for Good Award: KICKFORMORE by KICKFAIR, Football, Germany

Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award: Billie Jean King, American Tennis Player

Laureus Athlete Advocate of the Year: Lewis Hamilton, British Formula One Champion

Laureus Sporting Inspiration: Mohamed Salah, Egyptian Footballer

Laureus Sporting Moment of the Year: Chris Nikic, American Amateur Triathlete


The first Laureus World Sports award ceremony was held in 2000. This is an annual event that honours the greatest and most inspirational sporting triumphs of the year. 

Source: laureus.com

Also Read: