Home » 2022 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup India

2022 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup India

The 2022 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup, a multinational–international women’s youth football championship, was held in India from 11 October to 30 October 2022. It was the 7th edition of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup.

  • The prestigious tournament was held in Kalinga Stadium (Bhubaneswar), JLN Stadium (Margao, Goa) and DY Patil Stadium (Navi Mumbai).

The 7th FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup tournament was hosted by India. It was the second time that India have been hosted a FIFA tournament, after the men’s 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup. For the first time India hosted a FIFA women’s football tournament.

  • Morocco and Tanzania, along with host India, made their debuts in the tournament.

The official mascot for the tournament was “Ibha”.

Ibha is an Asiatic lioness, a lion subspecies that today survives in the wild only in India. The name Ibha means “one with good vision or judgement” in Khasi, a language spoken primarily in the state of Meghalaya.

According to FIFA, the mascot represents Nari Shakti (woman power) and is a “strong, playful and charming Asiatic lioness that aims to inspire and encourage women and girls by using teamwork, resilience, kindness and empowering others.”


The official slogan for the tournament was “Kick Off The Dream”.

VAR Technology:

Video Assistant Referee (VAR) technology was used for the first time in the FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup in India.

  • The VAR technology supports the decision-making process of the referee in four game-changing situations: goals and offences leading up to a goal, penalty decisions and offences leading up to a penalty, direct red card incidents, and mistaken identity.

The U-17 Women’s World Cup in India was the third FIFA women’s tournament to utilise VAR following the U-20 Women’s World Cup Costa Rica 2022 and the FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019.

2022 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup Final Match:

The final match was played on 30 October 2022 at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai between Colombia and Spain.

2022 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup Winners:

Defending champions Spain won the 2022 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup with a 1-0 victory over first-time finalists Colombia. Spain won their first title in 2018.

  • Nigeria finished third in the tournament while Germany finished fourth.

7th FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup Awards:

  • Golden Ball: Vicky López (Spain)
  • Silver Ball: Linda Caicedo (Colombia)
  • Bronze Ball: Mara Alber (Germany)
  • Golden Boot: Loreen Bender (Germany) (4 goals, 2 assists)
  • Silver Boot: Momoko Tanikawa  (Japan) (4 goals)
  • Bronze Boot: Linda Caicedo (Colombia) (4 goals)
  • Golden Glove: Sofía Fuente (Spain)
  • FIFA Fair Play Award: Japan
About FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup:
  • The FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup is an international association football tournament for female players under the age of 17.
  • It is organized by Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA).
  • Since its inception in 2008, the tournament is held in even-numbered years.
Source: FIFA

Also Read:

English English Hindi Hindi