Home » 2022 Pulitzer Prize Winners

2022 Pulitzer Prize Winners

The 2022 Pulitzer Prize (106th class of Pulitzer Prize) winners were awarded on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board. Columbia University announced the 2022 Pulitzer Prize winners on 09 May 2022.

The Pulitzer Prize is an award for achievements in newspaper, magazine, online journalism, literature, and musical composition within the United States.

2022 Pulitzer Prize Winners:

Public Service:

The Washington Post

  • For its compellingly told and vividly presented account of the assault on Washington on January 6, 2021, providing the public with a thorough and unflinching understanding of one of the nation’s darkest days.
Breaking News Reporting:

Staff of the Miami Herald

  • For its urgent yet sweeping coverage of the collapse of the Champlain Towers South condominium complex, merging clear and compassionate writing with comprehensive news and accountability reporting.
Investigative Reporting:

Corey G. Johnson, Rebecca Woolington and Eli Murray of the Tampa Bay Times

  • For a compelling exposé of highly toxic hazards inside Florida’s only battery recycling plant that forced the implementation of safety measures to adequately protect workers and nearby residents.
Explanatory Reporting:

Staff of Quanta Magazine, New York, N.Y., notably Natalie Wolchover

  • For coverage that revealed the complexities of building the James Webb Space Telescope, designed to facilitate groundbreaking astronomical and cosmological research.
Local Reporting:

Madison Hopkins of the Better Government Association and Cecilia Reyes of the Chicago Tribune

  • For a piercing examination of the city’s long history of failed building- and fire-safety code enforcement, which let scofflaw landlords commit serious violations that resulted in dozens of unnecessary deaths.
National Reporting:

Staff of The New York Times

  • For an ambitious project that quantified a disturbing pattern of fatal traffic stops by police, illustrating how hundreds of deaths could have been avoided and how officers typically avoided punishment.
International Reporting:

Staff of The New York Times

  • For courageous and relentless reporting that exposed the vast civilian toll of U.S.-led airstrikes, challenging official accounts of American military engagements in Iraq, Syria and Afghanistan.
Feature Writing:

Jennifer Senior of The Atlantic

  • For an unflinching portrait of a family’s reckoning with loss in the 20 years since 9/11, masterfully braiding the author’s personal connection to the story with sensitive reporting that reveals the long reach of grief.

Melinda Henneberger of The Kansas City Star

  • For persuasive columns demanding justice for alleged victims of a retired police detective accused of being a sexual predator.

Salamishah Tillet, contributing critic at large, The New York Times

  • For learned and stylish writing about Black stories in art and popular culture–work that successfully bridges academic and nonacademic critical discourse.
Editorial Writing:

Lisa Falkenberg, Michael Lindenberger, Joe Holley and Luis Carrasco of the Houston Chronicle

  • For a campaign that, with original reporting, revealed voter suppression tactics, rejected the myth of widespread voter fraud and argued for sensible voting reforms.
Illustrated Reporting and Commentary:

Fahmida Azim, Anthony Del Col, Josh Adams and Walt Hickey of Insider, New York, N.Y.

  • For using graphic reportage and the comics medium to tell a powerful yet intimate story of the Chinese oppression of the Uyghurs, making the issue accessible to a wider public.
Breaking News Photography:

Marcus Yam of the Los Angeles Times

  • For raw and urgent images of the U.S. departure from Afghanistan that capture the human cost of the historic change in the country.

Win McNamee, Drew Angerer, Spencer Platt, Samuel Corum and Jon Cherry of Getty Images

  • For comprehensive and consistently riveting photos of the attack on the U.S. Capitol.
Feature Photography:

Adnan Abidi, Sanna Irshad Mattoo, Amit Dave and the late Danish Siddiqui of Reuters

  • For images of COVID’s toll in India that balanced intimacy and devastation, while offering viewers a heightened sense of place.
Audio Reporting:

Staffs of Futuro Media, New York, N.Y. and PRX, Boston, Mass.

  • For “Suave,” a brutally honest and immersive profile of a man reentering society after serving more than 30 years in prison.
Books, Drama and Music

“The Netanyahus: An Account of a Minor and Ultimately Even Negligible Episode in the History of a Very Famous Family,” by Joshua Cohen


“Fat Ham,” by James Ijames


“Covered with Night: A Story of Murder and Indigenous Justice in Early America,” by Nicole Eustace (Liveright/Norton)

“Cuba: An American History,” by Ada Ferrer (Scribner)


“Chasing Me to My Grave: An Artist’s Memoir of the Jim Crow South,” by the late Winfred Rembert as told to Erin I. Kelly (Bloomsbury)


“frank: sonnets,” by Diane Seuss (Graywolf Press)

General Nonfiction:

“Invisible Child: Poverty, Survival & Hope in an American City,” by Andrea Elliott (Random House)


“Voiceless Mass,” by Raven Chacon

Special Citation:

The Journalists of Ukraine

  • The Pulitzer Board awards a special citation to the journalists of Ukraine for their courage, endurance, and commitment to truthful reporting during Vladimir Putin’s ruthless invasion of their country and his propaganda war in Russia. Despite bombardment, abductions, occupation, and even deaths in their ranks, they have persisted in their effort to provide an accurate picture of a terrible reality, doing honor to Ukraine and to journalists around the world.
About Pulitzer Prize:
  • The Pulitzer Prizes were established by Joseph Pulitzer, a Hungarian-American journalist and newspaper publisher, who left money to Columbia University upon his death in 1911.
  • A portion of his bequest was used to found the School of Journalism in 1912 and establish the Pulitzer Prizes.
  • The Pulitzer Prizes were first awarded in 1917.

Read Also:

English English Hindi Hindi