Home » Current Affairs Date: 11 October 2022

Current Affairs Date: 11 October 2022


7th Governing Council Meeting of NITI Aayog

⇒ In the drive towards building a steady, sustainable and inclusive India, the Seventh Governing Council meeting of NITI Aayog was held on 7th August 2022 and paved the way for synergies towards a new era of collaboration and cooperation between Centre and States/ Union Territories.

Chaired by:

Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi chaired the seventh meeting of the Governing Council at Rashtrapati Bhawan Cultural Centre, New Delhi.

The meeting was attended by 23 Chief Ministers, 3 Lieutenant Governors and 2 Administrators and Union Ministers. The meeting was moderated by Defence Minister Shri Rajnath Singh.

Addressing the seventh meeting of the Governing Council (GC) of NITI Aayog, the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi said, “Every State played a crucial role according to its strength and contributed to India’s fight against Covid. This led to India emerging as an example for the developing nations to look up to as a global leader.”

This year, the Governing Council discussed four key agenda items:
    1. crop diversification and achieving self-sufficiency in pulses, oilseeds and other agri-commodities;
    2. implementation of National Education Policy (NEP) in school education;
    3. implementation of National Education Policy in higher education; and
    4. urban governance.

» The Prime Minister highlighted that the seventh meeting was a culmination of months of rigorous brainstorming and consultations between the Centre and States to identify national priorities.

About NITI Aayog’s Governing Council:
    • NITI Aayog’s Governing Council is the premier body tasked with evolving a shared vision of national priorities and strategies with the active involvement of States and Union Territories.
    • The Governing Council presents a platform to discuss inter-sectoral, inter-departmental and federal issues.
    • It comprises the Prime Minister of India; Chief Ministers of all the states and union territories with legislature; Lt Governors of other UTs; Ex-Officio Members; Vice Chairman, NITI Aayog; Full-Time Members, NITI Aayog; and Union Ministers as Special Invitees.
    • It provides one of the most important forum for deliberations between the Centre and States and identifying key strategies for cohesive action with a whole-of-Government approach.

‘Thagaisal Thamizhar’ (distinguished Tamil) and Other Awards

⇒ Chief minister M K Stalin presented various awards at the Independence Day celebration on 15 August 2022.

‘Thagaisal Thamizhar’ (distinguished Tamil) award:

Chief minister M K Stalin presented the ‘Thagaisal Thamizhar’ (distinguished Tamil) award to veteran Communist leader R Nallakannu for his outstanding contribution to the development of Tamil Nadu and Tamils.

    • CPI leader Nallakkannu, however, donated the cash prize of Rs 10 lakh and an additional Rs 5,000 to the CM’s Public Relief Fund.
Dr APJ Abdul Kalam award:

The annual Dr APJ Abdul Kalam award was presented to S Ignacimuthu, the former vice-chancellor of University of Madras and Bharathiar University.

    • A native of T Sindalacherry in Theni, the reputed scientist wrote more than 700 research articles and wrote/edited more than 31 books on bio-technology.
Kalpana Chawla Award:

B Ezhilarasi of Nagapattinam district was honoured with this year’s Kalpana Chawla Award for her bravery in rescuing two children in Kilvelur village from drowning in a pond despite not knowing to swim.

Best performing corporation:

Salem bagged the Best Performing Corporation.

Best performing municipalities:

Srivilliputhur, Gudiyatham and Tenkasi bagged the first, second and third prizes under best performing municipalities.

Best town panchayat category:

Karunguzhi in Chengalpet district, Kanyakumari in Kanyakumari district and Sholavandan in Madurai district received the first, second and third prizes under best town panchayat category.

CM’s best practices awards:

CM’s best practices awards were presented to-

Siragugal – Bricks (the district collector of Tiruvallur); Transform the life of transgender (the district social welfare office of Chengalpet); Rooftop rainwater harvesting structures (the district collector of Dindigul); Rejuvenation of waterbodies (the district collector of Sivaganga); Thaicare Nellai (the district collector of Tirunelveli); e-Vaadagai online agricultural machinery hiring mobile app (the chief engineer of Tamil Nadu agricultural engineering department) and Kaval Karangal (the commissioner of police, Greater Chennai Police).

First woman director general of CSIR

⇒ Energy researcher Nallathamby Kalaiselvi has become the first woman director general of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR).

    • Her appointment is for a period of two years, according to a government order released on 06 August 2022. Kalaiselvi succeeds Shekhar Mande, who superannuated in April.

» Kalaiselvi will also be the Secretary to the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research and become only the fourth woman scientist to occupy the position of a Secretary of a scientific department under the central government.

About Kalaiselvi:
    • Known for her work in the field of lithium-ion batteries, Kalaiselvi is the current director of CSIR’s Central Electrochemical Research Institute at Karaikudi in Tamil Nadu.
    • Kalaiselvi’s research is primarily focused on electrochemical power systems, development of electrodes and evaluating their suitability in energy storage device assembly.


India's 75th Grandmaster

⇒ Chess prodigy V. Pranav on 07 August 2022 became India’s 75th Grandmaster by winning a tournament in Romania.

The Chennai-based Pranav won the Limpedea Open in Baia Mare, Romania to secure his third and final GM norm and attain the Grandmaster title. He finished the tournament with 7 points from nine rounds to wrap the GM norm requirements.

The 15-year-old had obtained his maiden GM norm at the Serbia Open in 2021 and the second in the Vezerkepzo GM round-robin tourney in Budapest, Hungary in June.

    • Pranav is the 27th Grandmaster from Tamil Nadu, a list which includes the legendary Viswanathan Anand and teen sensations D.Gukesh and R.Praggnanandhaa among others.

Source: PIB & Other News Reports

Also Read:

English English Hindi Hindi