Home » Durand Cup 2021 held in Kolkata

Durand Cup 2021 held in Kolkata

Durand Cup 2021 was held in Kolkata from 05 September to 03 October 2021. This was the 130th edition of the Durand Cup.


With the dynamic support of All India Football Federation (AIFF), IFA (West Bengal) and the Government of West Bengal, the 130th Edition of Durand Cup became a landmark event.

The Durand Cup 2021 was organized by the Durand Football Tournament Society (DFTS) of Indian Armed Forces and jointly hosted by the Eastern Command and the Government of West Bengal.

Final Match:

The 2021 Durand Cup Final match was held on 03 October 2021 in Kolkata. The final match was held between Mohammedan SC and FC Goa.


The FC Goa defeated Mohammedan SC 1-0 in the final of the 2021 Durand Cup.

Top Scorers: (5 goals each)
  1. Devendra Murgaonkar from FC Goa
  2. Marcus Joseph from Mohammedan SC
Season Awards:

Golden Glove for Best Goalkeeper: Naveen Kumar (FC Goa)

Golden Boot for Top Scorer: Marcus Joseph (Mohammedan SC)

Golden Ball for Best Player: Edu Bedia (FC Goa)


The world’s third oldest and Asia’s oldest football tournament, the Durand Cup was first held in 1888, at Dagshai (Himachal Pradesh) and is named after Mortimer Durand, who was then the Foreign Secretary in charge of India.

Mohun Bagan and East Bengal are the most successful teams in the history of the Durand Cup winning it sixteen times each.

The venue of Tournament was shifted from Delhi to Kolkata in 2019.

Three trophies are presented to the winning team:
  1. The President’s Cup (first presented by Dr Rajendra Prasad)
  2. The Durand Cup (the original challenge prize – a rolling trophy)
  3. The Shimla Trophy (first presented by citizens of Shimla in 1903 and since 1965, a rolling trophy)

Source: durandcup.in & PIB

Also Read:

Scroll to Top