Home » Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay NIF Book Prize 2021

Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay NIF Book Prize 2021

Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay NIF Book Prize 2021

Dadabhai Naoroji’s biography, “Naoroji: Pioneer of Indian Nationalism” written by Dinyar Patel and published by Harvard University Press won Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay NIF Book Prize 2021. This is the fourth edition of the prize.

The prize carries a cash award of Rs 15 lakh and a citation. The prize was presented to Dinyar Patel, Professor of History, at an event on 4 December 2021.

About Book:

» The book is a definitive biography of the nineteenth-century activist, among the founders of the Indian National Congress and the first Indian-origin British MP.

» The book examines Naoroji’s life in modern India’s political history. A staunch critic of British colonialism, Naoroji also secured ties with anti-imperialists around the world and established swaraj or self-rule as India’s objective.

About Award:

» Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay NIF Book Prize is considered one of most prestigious literary awards of India.

» Since 2018, the New India Foundation has been awarding the annual Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay NIF Book Prize for the best non-fiction book on modern/contemporary India published in the previous year.

» This prize is named to honour the legacy of Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay: great patriot and institution-builder who contributed significantly to the Indian freedom struggle, the women’s movement, theatre resurgence, refugee rehabilitation and the renewal of handicrafts.

Last year’s winner:

Amit Ahuja and Jairam Ramesh were awarded jointly for the year 2020.

    1. Mobilizing the Marginalized: Ethnic Parties Without Ethnic Movements, written by Amit Ahuja
    2. A Chequered Brilliance: The Many Lives of VK Krishna Menon, written by Jairam Ramesh
Source: The New India Foundation and News Reports

Also Read:

Scroll to Top